Illinois · city rule
Chicago dog license
Chicago does not leave you to guess the counter: it is Chicago City Clerk, with Animal Care and Control. Dog license applications are accepted at City Clerk satellite facilities, and all licensed dogs must have proof of rabies inoculation. No dollar fee is repeated here because the page used for this city did not supply one that this entry quotes. The retrieved page does not state an age or a dollar fee. Read the linked page before you pay, because a form can change. This entry does not add a phone number or a penalty that the page does not show.
Checked against the official page on October 11, 2026. Ordinances change. Confirm the fee and the office before you pay.
- Licensing office
- Chicago City Clerk, with Animal Care and Control
- What the official page says
- Dog license applications are accepted at City Clerk satellite facilities, and all licensed dogs must have proof of rabies inoculation.
- Fee
- Not published by an official source we could verify.
- Official page
- Official page →
Dog license applications are accepted at City Clerk satellite facilities, and all licensed dogs must have proof of rabies inoculation. The state Animal Control Act page did not load, so it is not quoted. That is the rule taken from the fetched page, not from a neighboring city. Read the linked page before you pay, because a form can change. This entry does not add a phone number or a penalty that the page does not show.
No dollar fee is repeated here because the page used for this city did not supply one that this entry quotes. Use the city registration page rather than a county guess. The state context is Illinois, and the city page controls if it is more specific. Read the linked page before you pay, because a form can change. This entry does not add a phone number or a penalty that the page does not show.
In Chicago, start with the office named above and the linked government page. A rabies certificate from a veterinarian shows the vaccine. It is the city or county license only if that official page says the certificate is the license. Tags issued by another city do not automatically transfer when you move to Chicago. Ask whether the page's age rule, late fee, and spay or neuter difference apply to your dog before you pay.
Key facts for Chicago
- Dog license applications are accepted at City Clerk satellite facilities, and all licensed dogs must have proof of rabies inoculation.
- No fee is quoted for this city in this directory.
- The retrieved page does not state an age or a dollar fee.
- The state Animal Control Act page did not load, so it is not quoted.
Official sources
Official page used for the city rule.
What to do next
- Use Chicago City Clerk, with Animal Care and Control for a dog kept in Chicago.
- Bring the proof the page names, usually a rabies certificate.
- Ignore a fee that is not on the official page.
Statewide context is on the Illinois guide. Other verified cities are on the city index.