State guide
New York
New York's directory entry rests on a fetched page. The issuer it supports is New York City Health Department in New York City; city clerk in Schenectady under that city's code. The state agriculture licensing page returned HTTP 403 and is not quoted.. The state agriculture licensing page returned HTTP 403 and is not quoted.. The Department of Agriculture and Markets dog-licensing page returned HTTP 403, so Article 7 is not quoted from that site. A fee from the official page: New York City: spayed or neutered $8.50 per year; not spayed or neutered $8.50 if under 4 months, otherwise $34 per year. New York City says all dogs must have licenses attached to the collar in public.
Checked against official sources on October 11, 2026. Rules and links change; confirm with the office listed before you act.
- Who sets the license rule
- Municipal licensing agents; New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene for New York City
- Who sells the license
- New York City Health Department in New York City; city clerk in Schenectady under that city's code. The state agriculture licensing page returned HTTP 403 and is not quoted.
- Official page
- Official page →
City fees are $8.50 per year if the dog is spayed or neutered, and $34 per year if it is not and is older than four months. Schenectady's code says all dogs four months or older shall be licensed with the city clerk, with rabies proof. This record is sourced to the official page linked here.
An unaltered dog under four months is $8.50 for the first year on that page. Troy's site lists dog licenses among city clerk services but does not state an age in the menu text used. Use the linked page rather than a third-party summary. Read the linked page before you pay, because a form can change.
A late renewal may be fined $2 for each year not renewed, and a replacement tag is $1. Do not pay New York City's price in Schenectady. Rules for a neighboring city are not automatically yours. Read the linked page before you pay, because a form can change. This entry does not add a phone number or a penalty that the page does not show.
City pages in New York
Official resources in New York
All dogs in the city must be licensed; fees are printed.
Dogs four months or older licensed by the city clerk.
State rabies information, not the license fee.
Key facts for New York
- The Department of Agriculture and Markets dog-licensing page returned HTTP 403, so Article 7 is not quoted from that site.
- New York City says all dogs must have licenses attached to the collar in public.
- City fees are $8.50 per year if the dog is spayed or neutered, and $34 per year if it is not and is older than four months.
- An unaltered dog under four months is $8.50 for the first year on that page.
- A late renewal may be fined $2 for each year not renewed, and a replacement tag is $1.
- Schenectady's code says all dogs four months or older shall be licensed with the city clerk, with rabies proof.
- Troy's site lists dog licenses among city clerk services but does not state an age in the menu text used.
City license pages in New York
| City | city | href | Details |
|---|---|---|---|
| New York dog license | New York | /cities/new-york-ny | All dogs in New York City must have licenses, and the licenses must be attached to their collars while in public. |
| Schenectady dog license | Schenectady | /cities/schenectady-ny | All dogs in the city four months of age or older shall be licensed, unless exempted, by returning an application to the city clerk with rabies proof. |
| Troy dog license | Troy | /cities/troy-ny | The City of Troy website lists dog licenses among City Clerk services. |
* Not published: the official page doesn't list it. Call the office to confirm before you rely on it.
What to do next
- Open the official page for New York before you pay.
- Match the office to the address where the dog lives.
- Bring the rabies certificate if the page says it is required.
- Do not use another state's fee table.
Not seeing your city or county?
We list a city only when an official government page publishes its rules. If yours isn't in the table above, it may not publish them online yet. Here's what to use instead, in order:
- General Start with the statewide information above. It applies across New York, but cities and counties can add their own steps, fees or deadlines.
- Closest verified Nearest places where we have verified local data outside this state (distance from New York's population center, for comparison only):
- Waterbury dog license, Connecticut · about 81 miles
- Philadelphia dog license, Pennsylvania · about 107 miles
- Greenfield dog license, Massachusetts · about 128 miles
- Call to confirm Ask the official office. They have the current local rule, fee and form.Municipal licensing agents; New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene for New York City
Website →Phone not shown: use the contact page on the official website above.Your city or county office: Local governments →Not sure who handles it locally? USAGov's free help line, 1-844-872-4681, or the New York page on USA.gov can point you to the right office. - Know the current info? Tell us and include a link to the official page. We check every tip before it goes up.