State guide
Texas
Dog licensing in Texas turns on who the official page names. That office is The city animal-control office when a city ordinance requires registration, as Houston's page does. Texas does not show one state dog-license price on the health and safety chapter page reviewed. A fee from the official page: Houston: unaltered $60 first year and renewal; altered $20; senior altered $2; altered service animal $0 first year and $2 on renewal; $10 late fee if submitted 60 days or more after vaccination. Houston's code, as quoted by BARC, requires anyone who owns or keeps a dog or cat four months or older to register it, vaccinate against rabies every year, and have a registered microchip.
Checked against official sources on October 11, 2026. Rules and links change; confirm with the office listed before you act.
- Who sets the license rule
- Cities that require pet registration; state rabies chapter page did not yield a statewide license price
- Who sells the license
- The city animal-control office when a city ordinance requires registration, as Houston's page does
- Official page
- Official page →
Houston lists unaltered pets at $60, altered pets at $20, and a senior altered pet at $2. Dallas's pet-laws page discusses rabies, microchips, and spay or neuter citations, not a general license price, so Dallas is not given a license fee. This record is sourced to the official page linked here. Read the linked page before you pay, because a form can change.
An altered service animal is $0 the first year and $2 on renewal on that table. Austin's animal-services page did not state a registration rule in the text retrieved. Use the linked page rather than a third-party summary. Read the linked page before you pay, because a form can change. This entry does not add a phone number or a penalty that the page does not show.
A $10 late fee applies if registration is submitted 60 days or more after vaccination. Use the city page for the address, not another Texas city's table. Rules for a neighboring city are not automatically yours. Read the linked page before you pay, because a form can change. This entry does not add a phone number or a penalty that the page does not show.
City pages in Texas
Official resources in Texas
Dogs and cats four months or older must be registered, vaccinated yearly, and microchipped.
Rabies chapter page loaded; it was not used as a statewide pet-license price.
Key facts for Texas
- Texas does not show one state dog-license price on the health and safety chapter page reviewed.
- Houston's code, as quoted by BARC, requires anyone who owns or keeps a dog or cat four months or older to register it, vaccinate against rabies every year, and have a registered microchip.
- Houston lists unaltered pets at $60, altered pets at $20, and a senior altered pet at $2.
- An altered service animal is $0 the first year and $2 on renewal on that table.
- A $10 late fee applies if registration is submitted 60 days or more after vaccination.
- Dallas's pet-laws page discusses rabies, microchips, and spay or neuter citations, not a general license price, so Dallas is not given a license fee.
- Austin's animal-services page did not state a registration rule in the text retrieved.
City license pages in Texas
| City | city | href | Details |
|---|---|---|---|
| Houston dog license | Houston | /cities/houston-tx | Anyone who owns, keeps, or has control of a dog or cat four months or older must register it, vaccinate it against rabies every year, and have a registered microchip. |
* Not published: the official page doesn't list it. Call the office to confirm before you rely on it.
What to do next
- Open the official page for Texas before you pay.
- Match the office to the address where the dog lives.
- Bring the rabies certificate if the page says it is required.
- Do not use another state's fee table.
Not seeing your city or county?
We list a city only when an official government page publishes its rules. If yours isn't in the table above, it may not publish them online yet. Here's what to use instead, in order:
- General Start with the statewide information above. It applies across Texas, but cities and counties can add their own steps, fees or deadlines.
- Closest verified Nearest places where we have verified local data outside this state (distance from Texas's population center, for comparison only):
- Leavenworth dog license, Kansas · about 596 miles
- Nashville dog license, Tennessee · about 720 miles
- Des Moines dog license, Iowa · about 764 miles
- Call to confirm Ask the official office. They have the current local rule, fee and form.Cities that require pet registration; state rabies chapter page did not yield a statewide license price
Website →Phone not shown: use the contact page on the official website above.Your city or county office: Local governments →Not sure who handles it locally? USAGov's free help line, 1-844-872-4681, or the Texas page on USA.gov can point you to the right office. - Know the current info? Tell us and include a link to the official page. We check every tip before it goes up.